BMG Montana Leather Motorcycle Jacket

ROLL OVER ON ABOVE IMAGE TO VIEW IT

 

BMG Montana Leather Motorcycle Jacket

In stock

* Required Fields

$399.00
   

This is the one you are looking for. Just got the "Top Pick" from Motorcycle Classics Magazine. Best Classic Motorcycle Jacket on the Market today. Although the Montana Jacket has been around since the 50's in the UK, it is a true testament to the classic look and styling of this jacket that today it still earns such respect. A Brilliant Thick soft leather with a classic style that looks good anywhere. Don't be surprised to find that you wear this jacket just as much off your bike as on it. Features: • 1.4 mm drum dyed cowhide. • Pockets for optional shoulder, elbow and back armor. • Removable thermal liner. • Adjustable flow ventilation system. • Pre-curved sleeves with rotated shoulders. • Action back. • Snap down touring collar. • YKK brass zippers. • Brass snaps. • Full ventilated front pockets • Zippered cuffs. What The Press Has To Say ! TOP PICK: BEST CLASSIC LEATHER MOTORCYCLE JACKET "From the moment we opened the box, took a whiff of the lovely aroma pouring forth and ran our hands over the Montana™ creamy-smooth leather, we were taken. A few hundred miles later, we'd discovered even more to crow about. With its liner out, the Montana is surprisingly cool on hot days, as the four front pockets double as vents thanks to their mesh liners. The brown finish is a nice contrast to the normal black you see everyone else wearing, and the soft finish of the leather will inevitably lead to the jacket "weathering" nicely and developing a character all of its own within a few thousand miles. It's comfortable. It's well-made. It feels secure. It's something different, and it has that vintage feel. What more could you ask for." Motorcycle Classics Magazine



$399.00
BMG Montana Leather Motorcycle Jacket is available for purchase in increments of 1
   Pin it

"Easily the most comfortable jacket of the bunch right from the get-go. The Montana jacket from British Motorcycle Gear has already become a favorite here at the office. Although made of heavy-duty 1.4mm cowhide, this jacket smells, feels and wears like a nice leather should. And even though it's a good piece of riding gear, it's one of the few here that's subtle enough to pass as a "regular" jacket. It features removable armor in the shoulders and elbows, along with a removable thermal liner for when it's cold, plus dual vents in the front and back of the jacket for when it's hot." Landon Hall/ Motorcycle Classics Magazine

"British Motorcycle Gear Classic Montana Jacket... This 1.4 mm drum-dyed cowhide jacket has been in the company's range since the '50s, so the classic look is a natural. The leather has a great "hand," meaning it has an uncommonly soft, supple feel. Snap the liner out in the heat and open the four front pockets ( which have mesh inside) and the rear exhaust vents for a little breeze. The pair of four-position waist belts on each side provide added comfort and style. If you don't care to look like a big, bad biker when you're walking into the restaurant, the Montana has a very classy look and could also pass for fashion wear." Rider Magazine

"No, Editor Mike, BMG does not stand for Buy More Guinness;( It doesn't?---ED) although that's never a bad idea. BMG actually stands for British Motorcycle Gear, and they're a smallish company, run by people who really care about what they make. This classic simple looking black leather jacket is called the Montana and has been a mainstay of their gear for many years--- and you can easily see why, It's built from 1.4 mm cowhide leather, the same weight of skin that most companies use for their professional road race suits. Yet somehow this BMG leather isn't stiff and restrictive, instead it's soft, flexible and easy to wear." Cafe' Racer Magazine.

"The "Buy My Gear" boys have given their luxurious cowhide a well-worn, antique sort of finish and we absolutely luuurve it. It's also kitted out with easily removable top-notch body armor( from British experts Knox) a fleecy zip-out liner, plus sturdy metal snaps and zippers. When complete, it's a confidence inspiring jacket for hard-riding, but take the armor out and it's suddenly one of the most handsome looking bar-hopping jackets we've ever seen. Added to all this, it's not plastered in unwanted flashy logos, it's got a flattering fit and loads of pockets, some of which serve double-duty as ventilation. Really, what more could you want? Yeah, we know. More Guinness. BMG are the people who import all of the new Belstaff stuff too, gear like Ewan McGregor's Long Way Down Belstaff jacket, so there are plenty of reasons to book mark this firm's great web site." Cafe Racer Magazine

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.

  1. Unbeatable. Review by Spitfire151
    Price
    Value
    Quality

    After looking high and low for a jacket that had the right price point, look, features, AND included pads I finally found the Montana. I was, to say the least, awestruck. The web backed me up with countless forum and other posts praising it's craftsmanship, style, and longevity.

    Mine arrived just yesterday and I can't help but stare at it and count the hours until I can wear it on my bike.

    I must also point out that BMG's customer service has been fantastic. CS Rep. Paul helped me out big time and was a fantastic resource. Anyone unsure of whether or not this is a good investment, all I can say is get one. Now.

    Happy riding! (Posted on 4/8/2014)

  2. Proper Vintage Motorcycle Jacket Review by BeemW
    Price
    Quality
    Value

    I wanted to post this review because I am 6'6" tall/220lbs, and the 46 size on this jacket fits me perfectly. Perfect arm length, sleeve, and body fit. Looking forward to riding with this jacket. (Posted on 1/8/2014)

  3. Great jacket and Great service Review by Eric Meriat Kormann
    Price
    Quality
    Value

    Hey,
    I ordered mine on 46 because I was scary by the different reviews.
    Finali the size was 44 ( I am 6.01 for 210lbs ) the refund have been very fast.
    Great Jacket, soft leather and armor very good.
    (Posted on 8/17/2013)

  4. Amazing quality - TRUE TO SIZE Review by Robert
    Price
    Quality
    Value

    It's a given that this is a great jacket. Really solid build quality, soft, thick leather and classy design. Mostly just wanted to say that I listened to the other reviews here and ordered a size up - MISTAKE. I'm not a slim or particularly fit dude, and the 44 fits true to size. Motorcycle jackets are supposed to fit a bit snug so they don't ride up on you in a crash. They can't protect you if they're not on you. (Posted on 7/17/2013)

  5. Great Jacket Review by Matt
    Price
    Quality
    Value

    Fit me great (5'10" / /150lb / 36" chest), looks great and easy to wear even with the knoxx armour in place. Cant go wrong - and shipped out ASAP to Canada too. Thanks! (Posted on 6/8/2013)

  6. Love it! Review by Drew
    Price
    Quality
    Value

    One of, if not my very favourite jackets of all time!! I too wear it in all seasons and not necessarily just for biking. It's a great looking, great fitting jacket. 2 thumbs up!! (Posted on 5/24/2013)

  7. Exactly what a motorcycle jack should be Review by Adam
    Price
    Quality
    Value

    This jacket is excellent everything about it is spot on! First off the cut it fits like a well tailored glove, it fits so well I wear it as a casual jacket. It's extremely light wieght but it kept me from freezing to death on a 20 degree ride through virgina. The liner is something between the softness of a baby blanket and the warmth of insulation. The long arms are more of a blessing believe me I would not conisider them a negative whatsoever. Order true to size unless your on the hefty side go a size larger. (Posted on 1/21/2013)

  8. Ncie jacket Review by Brian

    I've had this jacket for almost 2 years now--its exceptionally built, fits great, and i even wear it around town when im not riding. The jacket size I purchased is 40, and could probably go a size smaller. Definately worth the money--check out a video i made here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GGryS6BDIm8 (Posted on 11/3/2012)

  9. Very Nice! Review by Bob Lovall
    Price
    Quality
    Value

    Got my jacket today and have to say I think it is spot on. Glad I sized up after reading some of the other reviews. Only one problem...not use to zipping from the other side...it,ll take a little getting use to. Other than that...the jacket is well worth the price...absolutely! (Posted on 9/30/2012)

  10. Excellent jacket oh so close to perfect Review by Dave

    All the raves are deserved, the Montana is a great jacket.

    However, it's not perfect.

    -- I'm close to a 40 regular, bought the 42, definitely size up.

    -- Wearing the jacket while standing is fine, leaning forward on the bike is fine, but sitting upright ala standard/cruiser seating, the arms fit a little high and tight beneath the armpits. Could use an extra half inch or so of room there and it'd be perfect.

    -- The velcro opening to the pocket for the back armor is too narrow, it's impossible to easily insert/remove the Knox back armor, you have to fold the armor and even then you're stretching that opening to the tear limit. The opening could stand to be a couple inches wider, perhaps the entire width of the armor pocket.

    Not a problem if you're going to leave the armor in or out all the time, but if you're like me and would like to wear the jacket casually (it's that nice!), swapping the back armor in and out is too much of a pain (the shoulder/elbow armor are easy as pie).

    -- For some inexplicable reason the side belts face forward instead of backwards, the lines would be much cleaner IMO if they faced backwards (not to mention, that way your sleeves wouldn't catch on the straps when you walk).

    -- The interior cell phone pocket could be a bit bigger with a larger zipper pull

    -- The pants connector zipper faces the wrong way for American riding pants

    Anyway, if it sounds like I'm being too critical-- perhaps I am. It's a great jacket, I'm very happy with my purchase and would buy again, it's just a few steps short of perfection. (Posted on 9/18/2012)

  11. Awesome Jacket Review by Jules
    Price
    Quality
    Value

    Received the Jacket today. Really quick delivery. 5 business days to Canada. Great service. The jacket is oh so soft and looks amazing. Yep it is kind of half way between black and brown but this only adds to the appeal. I measure as 44 but ordered the 46 so I could use it with the back armour. Perfect fit!

    Thanks!!
    (Posted on 7/22/2012)

  12. Excellent jacket! Review by David Brancheau

    This jacket is amazing. It looks good, I received a lot of compliments and the rich leather scent adds to its charm.
    The fit is really good. My chest is about 42 but I sized up and got the 44. Every motorcycle garment I've purchased I've had to do this... It is a bit snug with the back armor but not uncomfortable. The sleeves are a bit long but they are perfect while riding. It's not a cold weather jacket, but I've already rode in mid 80 degree weather and it is pretty well ventilated. The Montana jacket is a good spring/fall weight jacket and summer if you just want to look cool.

    Great jacket!

    David (Posted on 5/12/2012)

  13. Great Value Great Looking Jacket Review by James
    Price
    Quality
    Value

    OK just got my jacket, initial feelings without being on the bike yet(horrible weather today)
    Leather is very good quality at that price.Smells amazing! It looks well made throughout.
    Its fits pretty well perfect with the cuff length with outstretched arms at the exact length it should be.

    Could not buy a jacket at this price with this quality and stylish looks here in Australia.
    Will post another review once on the bike.
    So far very satisfied. (Posted on 5/1/2012)

  14. Fit is perfect, measure with tape before you buy. Review by RedSoxFan
    Price
    Quality
    Value

    First thing; I measured my chest to be 46" exact. So of course I hesitated to order the 46 jacket for fear of a too snug fit. Not a problem, once you reach for the bars its fits better than while standing upright. The 46 fits a little snug around the chest off the bike, but once on the bike its perfect. Does not ride up, and feels comfortable where it should. The armor provides piece of mind, and looks tough too. highly recommend. Is say this jacket works best for a cruiser style bike, as well as a cafe or classic style. Probably a bit to old school for something like a modern sport bike. (Posted on 3/28/2012)

  15. My Bonneville Lass Review by Stephen Brashear
    Price
    Quality
    Value

    I purchased this coat a month before I ever got the bike. From the moment removed it from the box to the moment it landed on my shoulders, I knew it was exactly the leather for me! Instantly, I had two gorgeous roommates hanging on me sniffing and feeing the leather. Thanks BMG! (Posted on 3/7/2012)

  16. Luscious leather Review by Cylon rider
    Price
    Quality
    Value

    This is a beautiful jacket. The leather has a rich color which is primarily black but with a touch of brown. It feels soft and supple out of the box. The size 38 i ordered was true to size, but the sleeves are very long. (I wear a 15-1/2" shirt w/ a 32" sleeve). For a stretched out cafe racer position, the sleeve length might work, but I will need to have these shortened about an inch, hence I deduct 1 star from my rating. (Posted on 2/11/2012)

  17. Great Jacket Review by Paul C
    Price
    Quality
    Value

    This is a great jacket. I purchased it last month at the motorcycle show and I love it. It looks great, is made with great quality materials and workmanship, and is well worth the price! (Posted on 1/30/2012)

  18. Great jacket, good value Review by Lunchbag
    Price
    Quality
    Value

    This is a great motorcycle jacket. I ordered mine two years ago and love it. I went a size up and it fit right the first try. Color is nice, much better than the ubiquitous black jacket. Quality is clear throughout. Worth the relatively high price. Very comfortable. Works well in cool to warm weather by adding/removing liner and zipping/unzipping vent pockets. I got the back armor, which is the only armor really noticible when all are inserted. Great piece of gear! I doubt I will ever buy another jacket. (Posted on 9/3/2011)

  19. Ages beautifully Review by Toby

    I've had mine for a year, riding through rain, sleet, and sun - desert sun, tropical sun. The leather starts out a very deep, rich brown. Mine has now started to fade a little across the shoulders and upper arms, and darken on the underside of the forearms where I rest my elbows. It looks fantastic, like a well-broken in pair of raw denim.

    Something that surprised me: I prefer to wear the Montana in the heat than my Rev'it mesh jacket. The thick leather keeps the sun off me and the satin lining doesn't chafe like the mesh ones can. (Posted on 5/14/2011)

  20. Great jacket for a reasonable price Review by twowheelsforever
    Price
    Quality
    Value

    I just picked up the Montana jacket from the NY IMS show a few days ago, and so far I love it. It's been too cold to ride, so I've been wearing it around my house the last couple days. It's very comfortable, and even my wife loves it!

    I've been looking for a motorcycle jacket with sleeves long enough for my arms for a couple of years now. I'd bought a couple online, only to be disappointed by the fit. I have had my eye on the Montana for a while, but was reluctant to make a purchase without trying one on, so I was happy BMG would be exhibiting at the show. All of the guys manning the booth were very friendly and helpful. The fit is excellent, the sleeves are long enough (finally!), and the leather is buttery soft. I couldnt't be happier! (Posted on 1/24/2011)

  21. Excellent jacket by BMG Review by MKP

    I own this jacket and the Belstaff Mojave in wax cotton and I could not ask for two better short "blouson" style jackets. The Montana is very well proportioned and looks great both on and off the bike. Kudos to BMG for putting together such an excellent piece. (Posted on 1/10/2011)

  22. Lovin' It Review by GG

    My favorite Christmas gift (probably because I picked it out myslf). Out of the box it is so supple and flexible. I'm 5'-11", 155lbs, 39" chest. Ordered a size 40 and it fits perfectly with or without the armour or liner. You could wear this as a street jacket with the armour and no one would know, it's that well tailored. Without the armour, it goes anywhere and looks great. Rode in 50 degrees with the liner and just a t-shirt - it was perfect, so I imagine it would be good at colder temps with another layer underneath. Havn't tried it in warm weather with the vents open, but I would really have to be suffering before even thinking about riding without this jacket. It's just so comfortable. (Posted on 1/2/2011)

  23. manu Review by manu
    Price
    Quality
    Value

    la mejor chaqueta estilo motero del mercado y de una marca de reconocido prestigio a nivel mundial.excelente. un 10 de valoracion.
    (Posted on 11/24/2010)

  24. FINALLY Review by Rich Steixner
    Price
    Quality
    Value

    I have only had this jacket for a week now, but I will say the following: FINALLY a motorcycle leather jacket that actually is constructed for motorcycle riding. By that I mean I went through SEVEN jackets by reputable manufacturers and they all were too short in the sleeves. Almost as if riding was incidental to whoever was going to buy them. This jacket fits like a motorcycle jacket should... that is to say that the sleeves are way longer than a non-riding jacket so they don't ride up in the riding position. Thank you. FINALLY (Posted on 7/22/2010)

  25. The Best Review by Kerry
    Price
    Quality
    Value

    This is by far my favorite motorcycle jacket, and I have about 10. I bought it 3 years ago and recently got another one for my son. I find that I wear it everywhere, whether I'm riding or not. (Posted on 6/25/2010)

  26. Awesome Review by Wells
    Price
    Quality
    Value

    Just picked this up at the Int. Motorcycle Show in NYC this weekend. While I have not ridden with it just yet, I did wear it all day (and all night) and now I cant wait to get on my Guzzi and wear it everywhere I go.

    Leather is very soft. Fit is trim but the cut is very comfortable. I'm wearing a 44 and I'm 6'0 and 165lbs with long arms.

    The only downside is the liner. It zips in but then does not snap/pin into place under the arm holes and subsequently your hand and arm get stuck trying to find the hole in the fleece then the sleeve. So I removed it entirely...

    Great jacket for the price. Looked at the dainese zen and this is a better jacket for the money, in my opinion. (Posted on 1/23/2010)

  27. Excellent fit , excellent craftmenship Review by Lew

    I was more than pleased with the Montana Jacket. Not only did it fit perfectly but the craftmanship was excellent. (Posted on 10/8/2009)

  28. Montana Review by Jack

    I have been using this jacket for over 3 years now and it is fantastic and looks even better with age. It will no doubt become an heirloom as it has alot of character again especially after it ages in the sun. I have alot of miles on this jack and love it more evey day. (Posted on 8/6/2009)

  29. Quality Review by Justin

    I received the jacket near a week ago. I had read the reviews here as well as WebBikeWorld. It was down to the Roadcrafter or the Montana.

    I could not be happier with my choice. I was able to test fit the Roadcrafter. I didn't have the same opportunity with the Montana but I still went with it.

    To be redundant of some other reviews: Leather is soft, feels like the nice soft leather on a good couch. Fit is perfect. I ordered the same size as I wear in a business suit and it's great. It's tailored well enough that even with the forward lean to the bars, the arms reach and the fit doesn't pinch.

    AND - It looks cool.

    Buy it if you're considering a Motojacket. (Posted on 6/30/2009)

  30. I love this jacket.. Review by Adam Kelder
    Price
    Quality
    Value

    Thank you for making the Montana Jacket. Hands down, it is the finest motorcycle jacket I have ever had the pleasure of owning! I feel like a moviestar everytime I put it on, just amazing quality. After a year of riding it has plenty of character from road grit and bugs. I love this jacket so much that I am worried about cleaning it. Is there a certain cleaner that I should use on it. On your website you recommend British Motorcycle Gear Care, but I cannot find this product on your site or elsewhere on the web. Any information would be greatly appreciated.



    Thanks,



    Adam Kelder

    Maryland, USA
    (Posted on 6/28/2009)

  31. Great Jacket Review by Steve L

    Quality Leather, very soft and feels like it is already broken in.

    More of a black/brown...but it looks great. (Posted on 6/8/2009)

  32. Just got the jacket today! Review by Mark

    Holy s**t. What a fantastic jacket!! A true motorcyclist jacket, not a "biker" jacket. The pictures do not do this jacket justice. It is more of a flat black or a brown/black, but it looks so much better than the shiny black jackets that are everywhere (just my opinion as the flat black looks more retro and broken in). The jacket fits perfectly (if you are in between sizes, order the next size up as it is snug - as it is supposed to be and I think it fits perfect). Pockets on the inside and out, armor, venting, sinching at the waist, zip out liner....absolutely fantastic!!!! This jacket is the perfect complement to my Royal Enfield. And the workmanship!.....this is not a cheap online leather jacket, trust me. No need to look anywhere else. You will not be sorry. Thanks BMG! (Posted on 5/25/2009)

  33. hooked for life Review by grumpybiker

    BMG has the best quality and designed bike wear I have found backed by first class customer service. This is the only leather jacket I will wear. (Posted on 5/7/2009)

  34. Nice Jacket Review by J. Graser

    The Pros: I absolutely love the fit of this jacket. The arms are long enough that they still reach my hands even when holding on to my Thruxton's clip-ons. I've heard people say to order one size up... I disagree. I'm a 46 suit jacket and ordered a size 46. It fits perfectly. Nice and snug in the chest area without being too resrictive.

    The Cons: The jacket doesn't look like the one in the pictures. It is definitely more dark brown. Kind of a greasy, dirty black and the leather finish is different - not at all "shiny" like the jacket in the picture. I would have liked to have had the leather grain(?) matched up a little better. One arm has a very smooth finish while the other has a pebble wrinkle finish. Not major problems, but I thought they were worth mentioning. (Posted on 5/6/2009)

  35. Just What I've Been Looking For Review by Dale Leppo

    I have been looking for a jacket that would look "right" on my Triumph Bonneville, but still have modern features like armour and (at least some) venting. I also wanted a jacket that looked like a Motorcyclist's jacket.(NOT a Biker's jacket.) The Montana met all of those expectations. Thanks! (Posted on 4/2/2009)

  36. Best. Jacket. Available. Review by Peter
    Price
    Quality
    Value

    Simply the finest piece of leather I've ever put on. My other jackets are now on ebay! (Posted on 2/24/2009)

  37. Oh man ! Review by Dave D
    Price
    Quality
    Value

    Great jacket.Way better than picture looks.My only complaint is it is a little snug in waste area,guess I will have to lay off the cheese burgers! No really,great coat at any price. (Posted on 2/17/2009)

  38. Great Leather! Review by drew

    I used this jacket for about 2 months before I had to put the bike away for the winter. It's a great jacket, plenty warm even in 30F, plus wicked comfortable. No break in required, and quality construction and armor. Best thing for me is no stupid, giant size name brand tags, just a little brit flag. Highly recommend this! (Posted on 12/6/2008)

  39. Great Jacket Review by Gary OBryan

    This is a great leather jacket not only with quality but with looks too! Only have a couple of rides with it and looking forward to wearing in the jacket!

    Just a side note: the jacket is not black as in the picture. Well, at least mine isn't. More of a black-brown. Still looks great! (Posted on 10/30/2008)

  40. The Best Review by Ray B
    Price
    Quality
    Value

    The best investment I have made so far. The quality, fit and finish is teriffic. Can't imagine riding without this jacket. Bravo! (Posted on 9/9/2008)

  41. Wow this is a find. Review by Jerry
    Price
    Quality
    Value

    When I read the Motorcycle Classics review I though if it is half as good as the article says I am going to love this jacket.. In fact it is every bit as good as they said.. Look forward to many years in this one.
    Thanks British Motorcycle Gear! (Posted on 9/3/2008)

  42. Montana Jacket gets me noticed Review by John
    Price
    Quality
    Value

    Everyone loves the look of my Montana Jacket. this is the first time I have ever had people stopping me to tell me how nice my jacket looks and asking were I got it from.. Thanks BMG (Posted on 4/2/2008)

  43. Love my new Montana Jacket Review by Dave
    Price
    Quality
    Value

    Excellent quality for the price. (Posted on 3/30/2008)


Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register